Keith Cornett Eustis
Contra Dance Caller
Calling Schedule
Dance Calling

My first callers’ workshop followed a local dance where the caller did not show. Several of us became aware of how few local dancers could step in, and decided to learn how. My intent was only to call as needed, and I thought of it as giving up dancing. Not so!

After over nineteen years, I find the joy of calling, and seeing the dance work, as thrilling as the dancing. It is such a treat to share this love of music and dance with like communities everywhere.

Keeping in mind that we are at the dance to have a good time, I will often plan a program to include some new and different dances, as well as favorites. My intent is to teach clearly, walk them quickly, call them only as long as needed, and then get out of the way and let the music carry the dance.


 2013 - 2014 calling schedule:(Previous calling schedule available in EPK

Friday, June 7 - Sunday, June 9, 2013 -- Dance Trance, Lexington, KY with Contra Force and Seth Tepfer with Mean Lids
Tuesday, June 25, 2013 - Blue Ridge Contra Dance, Saluda, NC
Friday, July 19, 2013 -- Private wedding
Sunday, August 11, 2013 -- Sylva, NC with Out of the Woodwork
Monday, August 26, 2013 -- Grey Eagle, Asheville, NC with Avant Gardeners
Saturday, August 31, 2013-- River Falls Lodge, SC with Pigtown Alley
Tuesday, October 22, 2013 -- Blue Ridge Contra Dance, Saluda, NC
Sunday, November 24, 2013 -- Waynesville, NC with Out of the Woodwork
Saturday, December 7, 2013 -- River Falls Lodge, SC with Tritones
Thursday, December 26, 2013 -- Old Farmers Ball, Swannanoa, NC with Contraforce
Tuesday, December 31, 2013 -- NYE dance, Charlotte, NC with Sons of the Full Moon

2014
Monday, January 13, 2014 -- Asheville, NC Grey Eagle with Contraversial
Friday, January 17, 2014 -- Asheville Advanced Dance, Swannanoa, NC with Boom Chuck
January 22, 2014 -- February 23, 2014 -- New Zealand!!!
Friday, February 28, 2014 -- Durham, NC with the Ivory Boys
Saturday, March 1, 2014 -- Carrboro, NC with the Ivory Boys
Friday, March 7, 2014 -- River Falls Lodge, Advanced Dance, SC with Gold and Light 
Friday, April 11-Sunday, April 13, 2014 -- Palmetto Bug Stomp, Charleston, SC with Syncopaths, Contraforce, Hungry Monks, Good Foot and Kathy Anderson
Friday, October 17 - Sunday, October, 19, 2014 -- SoleFest 2014, Springfield, MO with STEAM